image description

Thomas Fryland

Teacher, Trumpet, Music History, Music Theory

Thomas Fryland (b. 1969) graduated from The Royal Conservatory in the Haag, Holland, in 1992, where he was educated as a trumpet player and teacher.
Thomas Fryland is experienced in all genres within contemporary music and has performed and toured with a large variety of Scandinavian and international recognized musicians such as: Phil Woods, Lee Konitz, Benny Golson, Maria Schneider, Jerry Bergonzi, Eric Alexander, Renee Rosnes, Sam Yahel, Joe Lovano, Remy Le Boeuf, David Hazeltine, Kenny Drew, Bob Mintzer, Mike Stern, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Tim Hagans, Randy Brecker, Tom Harrell, Dick Oatts, Duke Jordan, Jim McNeely, Toots Thielemans, Ivan Lins, Fay Claassen, Bob Brookmeyer, Ed Thigpen, David Sanborn, John Ruocco, Jacob Karlsson, Lars Jansson, Rigmor Gustafsson, Ferdinand Povel, Rob van Bavel, Frans Elsen, Ack Van Rooyen, Rik van den Berg, Marco Kegel, Simon Rigter.
Since 1993 he has acted as a conductor and composer for his own ensembles. He has released 19 CD’s under his own name wich all have been critically acclaimed and have received numerous awards.
Former member of the Danish Radio Big Band conducted by Jim McNeely. Regular engagements with AJO, DR Big Band, Nordkraft Big Band and Is broadly recognized for his work as sideman, soloist, arranger and composer.

Beside substantial teaching at conservatories, performing workshops and postgraduate coaching, he is very active as a recording and performing musician nationally and internationally performing approximately 150 concerts each year.

At DJM Thomas Fryland presently teaches in main subject Bachelor/Master/Postgraduate program, Theory, Solfege, Composition, Arrangement and Combo.

Selected Discography:

2023: “Make it Stick!” w/Nordkraft Big Band
2023: “Forward Motion” w/Theo Hjorth
2023: “Frozen Fields” w/BRØK
2023: “Circular Motion” w/Theo Hjorth
2023: “Skipping” w/Jacob Djursaa
2023: “Shelter” w/Feather Drop
2023: “Hometown” w/Martin Granum
2023: “Mig vs Life” w/Zaina
2022: “A Short Moment” w/John Ruocco and Jacob Roved
2022: “Avennaata Pissaanera” w/Nordkraft Big Band
2022: “Tæthed og Tomhed” w/Nathalia Flórez
2022: “Tutku” w/AJO & Kalaha
2021: “Dream a World” w/Hasse Poulsen
2021: “Evolution Stories” w/Emil Hess Sextet
2021: “Dimma – the music of Jan Johansson” w/Ensemble Edge
2020: ”Book of Psalms Volume 1” w/Thomas Fryland Trio
2018: ”A Painted Beginning” w/Lasse Jacobsen
2015: ”Presents Passed” w/Veronica Mortensen
2015: ”Remembering Billy Strayhorn” w/John Ruocco and Jacob Roved